Pay-for-performance and paid listings are other names for Pay per click search engines. These engines allow you to skip all the search engine optimization stuff and simply pay for visitors. They allow site owners to determine their site’s ranking with a particular search engine, by bidding on keywords. Pay per click search engines are aimed at hunting for keywords associated with your website. You can earn high positions by biding on these keywords. You should decide upon the bid amount that you wish to pay to every visitor visiting your site through the search results.
And the more number of times a word or phrase has been searched, the higher will be the bid. And, the higher the ranking, the higher will be the traffic and sales. However, ensure that your site is related to the keyword on which you’re bidding.
Tips for a Steady Flow of Traffic to Your Website and Increased Sales:
The first step is getting an idea of the conversion rate that you expect, along with the gross profit margin of your product. This will help you to estimate the value of each visitor visiting your website. And once you know that, you can easily decide upon the bid amount on each click.
Let’s say, you sell fiction novels at a gross profit of $6 per book, and your conversion rate is 5%. This means that 5, out of 100 people visiting your site, actually buy a novel. So, under this situation, if 100 people clicked on your website link, you would sell five novels, making a total gross profit of $30. This implies that in order to reach a break-even point, each click should be valued at $0.30. Hence, if you bid less than $0.30 per click, you gain profit, but if you bid more, you lose.
And, you usually pay for your position in the result. If one advertiser is shelling out $0.18 for the top position and another advertiser is willing to pay $0.08, you obtain the third position for only $0.04. And, you don't always have to be first among the list of results. But, always aim for the first page, even if you're in position 15! This is because it’ not necessary that the first and second listings will always get the surfers’ preference. It has been observed that mostly the surfers skim the page in a hurry and are more likely to click on the first and the last listing s of the page rather than the middle ones.
Another thing to keep in mind is that you can often get great, targeted clicks for less cost, if you bid on keywords that are not very common. It’s prudent to bid on a few selected words per day for a strong promotion of your site. And, it’s more rewarding if go for several PPC Search Engines.
And, once you bid on a keyword or key words, create ads revolving around these keywords. For instance, an ad for “ladies’ tennis outfit at discount rates" will attract more number of eligible buyers as compared to an ad simply for “sports goods". Moreover, if your site displays the exact product or service that the potential buyers are searching for, then you’re in for some substantial amount of profits. Though this is an extremely effective strategy, very few businesses use it.
However, make sure that you bid for places in search engines that are popular and often used like, Overture and Google. The most popular ones are: LookSmart, Findwhat, Kanoodle, Enhance Interactive. But, some of the smaller PPC search engines are also worth checking. Though smaller search engines don’t give as wide an exposure as that given by Overture and Google AdWords, yet they’re worth trying, as you can still attract a good amount of traffic for your site, and that too, at a cheaper rate.
Submit My Site To Search Engines
If your efforts in developing web traffic focus on keywords you know it is very difficult to get ranking in the search engine for very popular (and very high paying) keywords. A search of your keyword will reveal tens of thousands of other sites and millions of other pages that you have to compete with. So how do you establish your site as an important site that people should visit?
You do this by not going after the main keyword immediately. You should first establish your site as an expert site in the general realm of your chosen keyword. Let me explain.
Let’s say you have a site that focuses on Fantasy Books. If you do a search engine check of this term you are literally going to get ten million results! To move your site up in this enormous listing of sites you have to establish your site as an expert in the area and to do this you ladder your way up the keyword phrases. Here is how to do it.
Using a keyword selection tool like Overture, Google keywords, or Word tracker find extremely long keyword phrases. Something like: “What is a good fantasy book to read?" Then write content that is extemely focused and solves that question really well. Give the web browser the absolute best answer to that question. When you are using a very long search term like this your keyword tool might only report that it gets fifty or a hundred hits a month but that’s ok. Because this search term is low traffic you will be able to quickly get a good ranking with it – there is much less competition. The traffic you do get will be very targeted, and very happy because you very specifically solved a search need and the search engines will take notice of this.
You should do dozens, and if possible hundreds of pages that do this kind of very focused search term problem solving. And from there you ladder yourself up to the more valuable, higher traffic, shorter keyword phrases. Something like: “the best fantasy book" would be good. Eventually, over time, you focus on your highest value keyword like in the case of this article “fantasy books".
This approach is not the fast way to do it. It is all about establishing expertise with your chosen subject area and for it to achieve maximum results you should always try to find long keyword terms that include your ultimate keyword and always write the best stuff you can that really solves a searchers problem. This will establish you as an expert with the keyword and give the search engines reason to rank your site high.
Both Tomas York & Will Kalif are contributors for EditorialToday. The above articles have been edited for relevancy and timeliness. All write-ups, reviews, tips and guides published by EditorialToday.com and its partners or affiliates are for informational purposes only. They should not be used for any legal or any other type of advice. We do not endorse any author, contributor, writer or article posted by our team.
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